Beauty · Secret Scent

Secret Scent Box: February

Whether single or in a relationship, I don’t feel there’s any harm in treating yourself in February. January is a long month and there’s always a lot pressure on this month and on Valentine’s Day. A treat is just good self-care. Therefore I was pretty happy to get my latest Secret Scent Box.

READ MORE

What is it?

Processed with VSCO with  preset

For those not familiar, you can either take out a set duration subscription or have a rolling monthly one. Each month you get a box of three mini designer fragrances with a card and description. Each should last around thirty days depending on how much you use them, and you can then keep the cards for scents you want to purchase. I like the fact that as they’re just samples, they fit into any handbag. Great if, like me, you love small, novelty bags.

What’s in the box?

(Apologies to film fans who are now picturing Brad Pitt!)

2019-02-09 01.58.13 2.jpg

Tommy Hilfiger – Eau de Prep

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Judging by what this says, I’m definitely not the target demographic for Tommy Hilfiger. They say it’s a perfect scent whether in the ballroom or on the tennis court. Hopefully it works just as well in an office for 42.5 hours a week! It’s not what I would buy for myself, it has a cool scent about it and I do tend to drift towards sweeter fragrances.

I feel like it could work as a more simplistic everyday fragrance. I like it and I’ll definitely use it but I wouldn’t go out and purchase a full size once I’ve finished this sampler.

 

Hugo Boss – The Scent Private Accord

Processed with VSCO with  preset

There’s always something nice about checking out the various notes of the perfumes. I don’t always know the ingredients but generally you can gauge what to expect from them before you try them. This includes Tonka for example. Nope, not sure myself. The top note of this is mandarin. I find Hugo Boss is often quite fruity which stops it from being too sweet but makes it virtually wearable for whenever and wherever. It looks like the bottle is really pretty too so I’d definitely consider getting this one.

My favourite of the three? So far, yes. I’m always impressed by how good Hugo Boss scents for women are.

 

Police– Passion Woman

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Quite surprised by this one. I’ve always liked the packaging for Police fragrances. I’m a sucker for anything with a skull. I’ve not always loved the smells though but this was the first one I tried and it’s really good. A mix of floral and fruity, the orange is subtle but distinctive and it works really well for me.

 

What’s the verdict?

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Really, really like this box and I can see me getting use out of all three of them. I’m wearing the Police one today and then we’re going out for a family meal tonight so I’ll switch to the Hugo Boss fragrance then. The best box since my first one I think.

Order (most liked to least liked though I like them all)

  1. Hugo Boss
  2. Police
  3. Tommy Hilfiger

Plus a bonus shot of Woody playing with my decorative paper. It’s the only way to stop him climbing on my table.

2019-02-09 01.58.10 2.jpg

Leave a comment