Beauty · Glossybox

January’s Glossybox, unboxed

Happy New Year! I know we pay for these in advance but that always makes me forget and when it arrives it always feels like a little treat. Especially timely for what’s been a mainly grey and dull January, we all need a pick-me-up. Review and many photos of this month’s Glossybox below.

I haven’t set New Year’s Resolutions as such but there are things I want to do and I’m working through my 30 for 30 list that I wrote about earlier this week. I have set some beauty goals too. Namely to stop being surprised or confused by the contents of these (aka I need to learn more and use more!).

Processed with VSCO with s1 preset

Winter can be rough on skin too and ever since we got back from Toronto, my immune system has been fighting back to back illness, often not well. My poor skin is suffering from it all. Therefore I had some hopes for the kinds of things that Glossybox would supply us with. It’s back to the normal pink boxes to kick off 2019 and I was curious to see what they could produce.

2019-01-10 10.24.40 1.jpg

The first product I picked up is the Hask Repairing Deep Conditioning Treatment. I’ve made a pact with my hair to be nicer to it this year. I skipped too many trims and cuts and the upshot is it’s a bit of a mess right now. Therefore I am really excited to try this product, it recommends a once a use to help nourish and hydrate hair. It’s got argan oil in it and should help dry hair. I should probably get mine cut though first!

I presume from the packaging hat it would serve several uses but the packet looks difficult to keep so I may decant mine into a tub.

2019-01-10 10.24.35 1.jpg

Next out was the Facial Micro Luffa Foaming Gel by -417. Hello skin care product, I was hoping for you. This is a cleanser that you can use daily, I tend to be better at tending to mine in the evening (so not a morning person, hand me the coffee) so I’ll definitely try this. Particularly as I’ve just run out of my previous product. Timely. I’m intrigued by the rather pretty packaging that boasts minerals from the Dead Sea. I’m not familiar with this brand but it smells  pretty good. Not only does it exfoliate but it helps to remove make-up.

2019-01-10 10.24.23 1.jpg

I spied a handy if not exciting product in here. Batiste are a brand familiar with everybody I suspect and pretty much all because of their Dry Shampoo. Always a staple product in my house. This is a slightly new version, called their Rethink Dry Shampoo. We get a deluxe mini which may even fit in my handbags (I’m generally a cross body bag girl so space is a premium). I prefer this product as lightweight and scented as possible and this definitely is. I’ve already used it and it’s a cheaper alternative to the Lee Stafford one I currently use.

Processed with VSCO with s1 preset

If there’s a product I’m least excited by is the Dream Blender Foundation Sponge by Maybelline. I’ve admitted previously that I just don’t use foundation. I’ve never the time or patience for it and my skin feels fine without it. Thus rendering this product somewhat useless to me. It looks nice enough and certainly helpful for applying but I’ll be passing this on to a friend who can give it a good home.

2019-01-10 10.24.28 1.jpg

I’ve saved the best until last. I think I remember them hinting that this month’s box was spoiling us but I’d forgotten. Last out but by far the product of the box, Avant Skincare Deluxe Hyaluronic Acid Vivifying Face & Eye Night Cream. This sleekly packaged baby is full-size and if you were to purchase it independently it’s worth a whopping £96. It’s an anti-ageing moisturiser which I feel I should use in a bid to ward off the big 3-0 that’s approaching this year. I’m a tiny bit scared that it freely advertises its acidic ingredient but I’ve seen enough reviews to testify it’s worth it. I’m largely here for the fact it rejuvenate tired eyes. It smells absolutely gorgeous too and I may have only got the box today but I’m logging off to apply it after this!

I’ll be honest and say that I would never have tried this otherwise. I can’t justify that kind of money on a single product but I am incredibly excited to have the chance to try it. Glossybox have really spoiled us with this one.

2019-01-10 10.24.31 1.jpg

The verdict? I’m pretty darn happy with that. I hoped for skin care and they’ve delivered two products for me. The hair additions will come in nicely too. Not my favourite ever but with the last product, worth well above what we’re paying for it. Happy January indeed! This is also a rare time I managed to snap all the photos without Woody sticking his nose in or trying to steal the ribbon.

2019-01-10 10.24.41 1.jpg

What did you think of your box? Happy with the luxury addition?

 

Leave a comment