Beauty · Glossybox

August’s Glossybox, Unboxed

Another limited edition box? You’re spoiling us Glossybox! This month is about everything Pride so it’s colorful and fun. Not to mention there were a few surprises with the products we got…

Processed with VSCO with u2 preset

Firstly, a photo to compliment this box on its presentation and design. The Pride rainbow colours are splashed over the usual pink in a clever way and the ribbon tying it all up is my favourite yet. I’m desperately hiding it from Woody (my rescue cat) who usually gets the ribbon each month to play with. This one is too pretty to be torn to shreds though. What with last month’s ocean theme and the limited edition one before, I haven’t thrown out a box in a while. Oops.

2018-08-14 08.43.37 1.jpg

There’s more to this box than just the gorgeous exterior though. This month we get six full sized products which makes it even better value for money than I already think it is. Here’s a quick overview of what’s inside and I’ll go over each product and my own thoughts on them separately.

2018-08-14 08.43.35 1.jpg


I’ll start with the product that topped my box and most surprised me. The Rimmel Ink Me Sticker Tattoos. Those who have followed me for a while or glanced at my Instagram know that I am rather a fan of real tattoos. I have eighteen, soon to be twenty. Mainly on my legs…for now. I have to say I don’t need these temporary ones but I do like the idea. I’m already contemplating putting them on my arms and filling in some gaps. They seem like a nice idea for a party or special occasion. Those not already covered may find them of more use though!

Processed with VSCO with u2 preset

A second Rimmel addition also comes from their Ink Me range and is the Heart stamp tattoo. This one I definitely think I will get more use from. A little heart shaped stamp that comes out in thick black I plan on using this to go with my love of eyeliner and add a slightly different look. Again, it’s not so much an everyday use product (not for me with my job that requires formal, corporate attire) but definitely for a night out or drinks with my girls. A light application dries quickly and cleanly so I look forward to experimenting more with it.

2018-08-14 08.43.33 2.jpg

Do I need more face care products or face masks? Not really but I do like to have options for when I need them. Therefore the Selfie Skin Nourishing Sheet Mask from Victoria’s Secret Pink is a fine addition to my collection. I haven’t tried this yet as I am still making my way through a few but it’s packed with coconut oil so I know my skin is in for a treat. Once I’ve taken it you can bet I’ll be taking it to the test with a selfie. I don’t do them often these days though so maybe it’s worth a before and after.

2018-08-14 08.43.29 1.jpg

My favourite product in this month’s box based on packaging and design is courtesy of Trifle Cosmetics (who gave me one of my favourite eyeshadow palettes in a previous month!). Their Lip & Cheek Jam looks so beautiful. Appearing more like an elixir than a cosmetic, this is a multi-tasking little addition. Cute in size, you could easily pop this in your bag and you’ve covered your lips and blush. It doesn’t need a lot to be applied to achieve a fairly natural looking colour either and it seems to match the long-lasting claim. A bonus? It’s vegan.

Processed with VSCO with u2 presetProcessed with VSCO with u2 preset

I probably didn’t need another highlighter either as I’m completely in love with one from a previous box, however, it’s another beautifully presented one. The Astrolight Highlighter by Kaleidoscope Cosmetics is well named. It’s another vegan contribution and smells beautiful. I’m a little pale and this has a very gorgeous but gold glow so personally for me, this was a case of less is more. Can’t fault the effects though and it did last.

Processed with VSCO with u2 presetProcessed with VSCO with u2 preset

Finally, the one I was, and still am, a little scared of. The Shadow Paint 703 by 3ina. A very bold, vibrant, cobalt blue eyeshadow. I know it’s back in but I am just a little worried of how best to pull this off for myself so I haven’t tried this yet as a look. Packaged up like paint, it certainly looks great and the eyeshadow feels pretty premium. It’s waterproof too which is a bonus. How have you used yours? I may just try a little near my lash line for now!

2018-08-14 08.43.33 1.jpg
My overall verdict? I probably wouldn’t have bought any of these products without a helpful guide from Glossybox so it perfectly illustrates why I wanted to try this idea and why I love getting my box each month. The design and feel of the month fit well and I’m really surprised by some of the inclusions. Overall, it’s another winning month for me even if it doesn’t quite match the last few for how much I feel I’ll use the products.

This post marks a first for me too in a while. No cat! For a change he slept right through me opening and photographing this. Good for the ribbon’s sake.

Is everybody else loving this month’s box?

One thought on “August’s Glossybox, Unboxed

  1. Your cat missed out 🙂 I don’t think I’ll use the Rimmel products, but I’ll find a good home for them. I liked the other products – I’m a big fan of face masks, and I hadn’t tried a couple of the other brands before, so it’s good to try something new. I really like cream shadows, so was pleased with the paint – although a different colour would have been better!

    Like

Leave a comment