Book talk · Reviewing my monthly reads · Uncategorized

Reviewing my April reads

I’ve had a bad month for blogging, but not so much for April. I got through all the ones I planned and managed bonus ones too. All below, plus what I’ll be reading for May!

Paper Girls, Vol. 2 – Brian K. Vaughan

IMG_9697.JPG

Probably my favourite current comic series, I’m now going to have to somehow patiently wait for the next one?! It’s smart, funny, gorgeously and colourfully illustrated and with all female characters.

It picks up right where the other left off. It’s a compelling story in itself but the little touches of political stuff, world events and pop culture only make it more enjoyable. The colours burst out the page at you and the illustration is charming but so, so well done. I could wax on about this comic for lots of rambling words but you may as well just go out and buy Volumes 1 and 2!

IMG_9702

It’s not me, it’s you – Jon Richardson

This was the oldest, unread book on my Kindle, shamefully. I just hadn’t gotten around to it. I’m glad that I have now though. There are some people in life that you can relate to and understand without having met them. Jon Richardson is one of these so I got on very well with the style and subject matter of this book.

IMG_9388

In it, he basically explores the world of dating, of being single and what looking for love in the modern age is. A fascinating insight for anybody who finds the idea of it all a little terrifying and cumbersome. His way of looking at the world is fairly similar to mine, so it amused me but also validated some of my own feelings. There’s plenty to laugh about in the book providing you already find him funny.

Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

I’ll admit that I’d not read this before. I also hadn’t seen the original film adaptation, but I did see and really love the most recent one with Carey Mulligan and Mattias Schoenaerts. So this had been on my to read list ever since.

IMG_9391

It didn’t disappoint either, though did surprise me with how long it was. It’s a story played out over time, so it can afford to be drawn out, but at no point does it feel boring or unnecessary. It perfectly plays out Batsheba Everdeen’s story, of how she wants to be more than a man’s wife, a possession. It’s quite iconic in that sense given the time it was written. Of course, from time to time, this is tested as she meets men whom she does like for one reason or another.

One thing that Hardy does convey well is the gritty, earthy nature of the countryside, of the farming industry and of the weather. The descriptions conjure up very vivid imagery to you as a reader and I was able to truly immerse myself into that world. I found its pacing reasonable throughout and the other characters fairly well fleshed out too. Particularly Gabriel Oak, whom I warmed to more and more. Not least due to his loyalty, his morals and his patience.

Definitely one of the best love stories I’e read in a while, but with other important messages too.

Snowblind – Ragnar Jonasson

IMG_9419.PNG

Not one of my planned reads, but Kindle had his trilogy of Dark Iceland books very cheap so I thought why not. Scandi based anything is good for me, so I was intrigued to start this. We follow Ari Thór, a budding policeman who relocates to try and boost his career. You can decide from reading it if his move helps or not. It certainly makes for an easy read. It’s a little slow to begin with, but that’s more to do with introducing the characters and setting the scene.

I certainly enjoyed things more once we got to the remote town of Siglufjörður and the story really begins. It’s a crime novel and a decent one at that. The remote setting and the unpredictable weather make for a good pairing and change the way the novel can be approached. It didn’t take me long at all to get through it either, a page turner where I could never quite guess who actually did do it. Which is a plus, I hate being able to guess where it’s going.

I look forward to reading the next one.

The 100 – Homecoming (Book 3) – Kass Morgan

Been trying to get this for a little while, as I breezed through the last one while travelling home for Christmas. The easiest and quickest to get through of all the series’ I’ve read recently. That’s not a criticism either. I enjoy them. Even if I’m sure I’m too old to really be doing so.

The television series is perhaps slightly more grown up in its approach. It’s also very different to the novels. For the record, I like both and can separate them to keep the enjoyment going. Though right now it’s certainly easier to like Clarke here than in the show. But that’s another story.

In this one, we’re pretty much on Earth for the duration, which means we get crossover interaction between characters. It’s a bigger story, more sprawling with our characters split up and separate from time to time. It also makes progress with the story and pulls on the heartstrings in certain moments.

May’s Planned Reads:-

It may be the 7th already, but I’ve started reading so here’s what I’ve got lined up.

The Ocean at the end of the lane – Neil Gaiman

The Humans – Matt Haig

Nightblind – Ragnar Jonasson

The Bat – Jo Nesbo

Leave a Reply

