Uncategorized

Helen does Hoop-tober

For those who don’t use Letterboxd, one of the longer serving patrons has been doing a Halloween, horror challenge for the last two years. The basic aim is to get through 31 horror films and to keep it interesting, there’s individual themes within the challenge.

I wanted to do this last year but then you were all so disciplined and organised and I wimped out. I did a horror challenge but it was all a little last minute and I didn’t make it to the end by the 31st.
This year I’ve studied the rules, researched my films, I’ll start watching and reviewing them on September 24th and I’m excited. My list features some of my favourites, some classics and around half the list is films I’ve not seen before. I love horror films, they’re the genre that for me into cinema so it’s about time I worked through more of its history! 

I won’t post every review here, you can find that on the list itself (http://boxd.it/NowO). Films below though and where they slot in category wise…


7 Films from a franchise:-

Resident Evil

28 Days Later

28 Weeks Later

The Purge: Anarchy

Rec

The Exorcist

The Evil Dead

6 Countries:-

Norway – Hidden

Denmark – Nightwatch

France – Switchblade Romance

Spain – Witching and Bitching

Italy – Suspiria

England – 28 Days Later 

5 Decades:-

1920s – The Phantom Carage

1960s – At Midnight I’ll take your soul

1970s – The Exorcist

1980s – The Thing

1990s – Nightwatch

5 Films pre-1970:-

Night of the living dead (1968)

13 Ghosts (1960)

Kuroneko (1968)

At Midnight I’ll take your soul (1964)

The Phantom Carriage (1921)

1 Silent Film:-

The Phantom Carriage (1921) 

5 Films from either Bava/Argento/Lenzi/Fulci or Henenlotter:-

Bava – Blood and black lace

Argento – Suspiria

Lenzi – The Nightmare City

Fulci – The Beyond and Four of the apocalypse

3 Crazy Animal Films:-

Dog Soldiers

Nightbreed

Arachnaphobia

1 Original, and it’s remake:-

The Evil Dead (1981)

Evil Dead (2013)

1 Classic Universal Movie:-

Creature from the black lagoon

1 Stephen King adaptation (in honour of Stranger Things):-

The Shining

1 film with a witch, not the witch:-

Witching and bitching

3 Spares of my own choosing:-

Trick ‘r’ treat

It Follows

Tale of two sisters

Anybody else joining in or doing a similar challenge? 

Leave a Reply

